skip to Main Content

Career Designations for Marketing Professionals

Marketing is a broad field and marketing professionals can be career-oriented in different ways. From brand marketers to digital marketers, there are many different types of careers available for someone with an interest in marketing. Once completing these programs successfully, list the designation on your resume and LinkedIn profile for hiring managers and recruiters to notice your level of expertise. 

Accredited Marketing Specialist (AMS)

To earn the Accredited Marketing Specialist (AMS) designation, you must complete a minimum of seven years of experience and successfully pass an exam. The AMS designation is for marketing professionals who want to demonstrate their expertise in the field.

The exam tests your ability to apply best practices for marketing strategies and tactics, including:

  • Strategic planning
  • Alignment with overall business goals
  • Marketing budgeting and forecasting

Certified Innovation Leader (CIL)

The Certified Innovation Leader (CIL) designation is a prestigious industry credential that recognizes and promotes professionals who have achieved mastery of a specialized body of knowledge. It identifies individuals who have demonstrated more than just an understanding of innovation; it recognizes those who have been able to apply their skills in various contexts and situations, as well as those who are active in developing others with the same expertise.

The CIL designation is important because it offers proof that you possess unique skills and experience within the profession, making it easier for you to stand out from other candidates when applying for jobs or opportunities. It can also help companies make informed decisions about which professionals would be best suited for particular roles within their organizations.

Becoming an Innovation Leader is simple: there are two main requirements that must be met before applying: 1) You must have at least 2 years’ experience working as a marketer; 2) You must pass all three components of the certification exam (Principles & Practices in Marketing & Sales Innovation; Identifying Your Target Market; Creating Rewards Programs). The exam consists of 70 questions taken over 90 minutes online through Pearson VUE Testing Centers located across North America—you’ll receive your results immediately upon completing each section.

Certified Professional Marketer (CPM)

The Certified Professional Marketer (CPM) is a professional designation from the American Marketing Association, who also offer certifications for other marketing professionals. The CPM exam covers all aspects of marketing, including strategy development and implementation; communications planning; research analysis; product and service design; pricing strategy; branding and communication channels; data collection, analysis, presentation and interpretation.

Certified Professional Services Marketer (CPSM)

The Certified Professional Services Marketer (CPSM) designation is the only professional accreditation focused on service marketing. It is awarded by the Society of Service Marketing Professionals (SSMP). To be eligible for this designation, you must have a minimum of five years’ experience in the field, and then pass an exam that tests your knowledge about all aspects of service marketing.

The CPSM designation is not just for marketers who work in service organizations; it can also be achieved by those working in traditional B2B industries such as manufacturing, healthcare and financial services.

Google Data Analytics Certification

Google Data Analytics Certification is one of the most sought-after certifications in the marketing industry. It’s a valuable addition to your resume, and a great way to show your employer that you are a certified expert in Google Analytics.

The certification exam covers all aspects of Google Analytics, including user administration, tracking code implementation and troubleshooting techniques. The exam has 100 questions and you have 90 minutes to complete it.

DMI Master

The DMI Master designation is the highest level of certification in the DMI program. It’s awarded to individuals who have met the rigorous education and experience requirements and been recommended by the DMI Board of Directors for nomination.

To become a DMI Master, you’ll need to:

  • Be either an accredited master’s degree holder or a doctoral degree holder from an accredited college or university with at least five years of professional experience related to marketing communications strategy; or have five years of professional experience as described above, plus three academic courses related to the field.
  • Complete one year (12 months) as a member in good standing on any other level within this program prior to applying for this designation

Professional Certified Marketer (PCM)

The Professional Certified Marketer (PCM) is the highest level of recognition for marketing professionals. PCM is a global designation that recognizes marketing professionals who demonstrate the highest standards of professionalism, leadership and expertise in their field.

Achieving this designation requires an individual to complete several steps:

  • Complete a rigorous application process
  • Pass an exam consisting of multiple-choice questions on subjects such as market research and customer analysis techniques; brand management; product development and management; communication planning, media buying and advertising campaign evaluation; sales promotion techniques; public relations principles; social media strategy implementation; and more
  • Develop a portfolio that showcases your experience with case studies or any other relevant materials you may have

SEO Certified

Whether you’re an SEO practitioner or want to become one, certifications are a great way to demonstrate your expertise.

There are several organizations that offer certification in SEO. The most well-known is Google Search Quality Raters, which requires online study and passing a 100-question exam. You can also earn a certificate from HubSpot by passing their quiz on SEO fundamentals and best practices as well as demonstrating working knowledge of SEO. Finally, Moz offers two levels of certification: one for beginners and another for intermediate practitioners (which includes completing the beginner course).

The marketing industry is constantly evolving, which means that there are always new career opportunities for people with the right skillset. If you’re considering a career in marketing, it’s important to have the right qualifications and certifications so that you can make an impact from day one. By choosing one of these designations as your next step towards becoming a top-notch marketer, you’ll help yourself stand out from other job seekers while also making sure that your resume stays up-to-date as technology changes over time.

If you need any assistance with navigating your career, contact us for a customized approach to your needs. 

Back To Top