skip to Main Content

Career Designations for Facility Management Professionals

A career in facility management is a rewarding and exciting path to take, but it can also be overwhelming. There are so many different job titles, roles and responsibilities that it can be difficult to determine which one best fits your skillset. Once completing these programs successfully, list the designation on your resume and LinkedIn profile for hiring managers and recruiters to notice your level of expertise.

To help you decide which designation is right for you, we’ve outlined some key differences between each type: 

Certified Facility Manager (CFM)

The Certified Facility Manager (CFM) designation is the most widely recognized designation for facility management professionals in the world. The CFM credential requires candidates to pass a rigorous exam that evaluates knowledge of facility management principles, practices and trends. The exam assesses candidates’ ability to apply their skills and knowledge in real-world situations through multiple choice questions that cover topics such as business management, risk management, sustainability, safety and security and project delivery methodologies.

Because CFMs are leaders in their industry who possess a high level of skill and expertise, they often serve on committees focused on improving the profession’s standards or working with other professionals from different industries to create more effective business practices.

Certified Healthcare Facility Manager (CHFM)

The Certified Healthcare Facility Manager (CHFM) credential is designed for facility managers working in healthcare facilities. This designation is administered by the American Hospital Association.

Certified Healthcare Constructor (CHC)

The Certified Healthcare Constructor (CHC) designation is for individuals in the construction industry who have demonstrated expertise in health care facilities. The CHC designation is a professional certification that is recognized by many employers and can help you advance your career. It shows that you have experience managing projects, budgets, and people in complex buildings.

To earn this designation, candidates must demonstrate knowledge of design-build project delivery methods as well as technical knowledge of building systems and equipment used in health care facilities. Candidates also need to be able to communicate effectively with clients and work with engineers, architects and other professionals on facility management projects.

Certified Manager of Maintenance (CMM)

The Certified Manager of Maintenance  (CMM) designation is a professional certification for building maintenance professionals. The CBMM program is designed to recognize the knowledge and skills needed for managing building maintenance. It is a voluntary, independent and self-regulating certification program.

Certified Manager of Commercial Properties (CMCP)

The Certified Manager of Commercial Properties (CMCP) is a professional designation awarded by the Building Owners and Managers Association International. The CMCP program was developed to recognize and reward individuals who have attained a high level of knowledge and experience in their field. It also provides an established platform for networking, career development and professional growth.

Facilities Management Administrator (FMA)

The Facilities Management Administrator (FMA) designation is the highest certification level in the FM field, and it takes time and effort to earn. To become an FMA, you must first have your CPM credentials. Once you have these, you can take the exam to become certified as an FMA by passing all four parts of the test.

Facilities Management Certificate (FMC)

A Facilities Management Certificate (MC) is a series of 3-4 courses that will give you the foundation and skills to work in facilities management. It’s important for anyone who wants to work in this field because it provides the knowledge required for a FMC exam, which is required by most employers.

Facilities Management Professional (FMP)

The Facility Management Professional (FMP) designation is a certification offered by the Association of Facility Management Professionals (AFM). It confirms you have the knowledge and skills necessary to manage facilities. The FMP exam contains 90 multiple-choice questions, which you must answer in 90 minutes. You can take it at any time throughout the year at an AFM-approved testing center.

The test covers four areas:

  • Engineering and Design Principles (26 percent)
  • Project Planning and Implementation (18 percent)
  • Aesthetic Considerations for Facilities Managers (12 percent)
  • Property Management Systems and Techniques (50 percent).

Sustainability Facility Professional (SFP)

The Sustainability Facility Professional (SFP) program is a professional designation offered through the BOMI Institute. SFP is an advanced designation for facility management professionals who want to develop skills in the areas of energy efficiency, sustainability and green building design.

To become eligible for the SFP designation, you must first hold either a Certified Facility Manager (CFM) or International Facility Management Association (IFMA) Professional Certificate in FM from BOMI Canada or take an equivalent course. To earn your Sustainability Facility Professional (SFP) designation:

  • Complete all four core courses plus one elective course
  • Pass an exam on each subject area (60 questions).

If you’re looking to advance your career in facility management and make a difference in the world, check out these professional designations. They can help you grow as an individual while also giving back to the community through sustainability initiatives and more.

If you need any assistance with navigating your career, contact us for a customized approach to your needs. 

Back To Top